Counting your chickens….

7 Dec

It seems like I’ve been doing a lot of that lately, and it hasn’t been going well.

2 weeks ago, I was furiously writing like crazy because I felt there was a great chance that a good friend of mine who’s name shall not be disclosed here said he could probably get my music onto a major show on ABC primetime. I started writing dramedy cues and dedicated my whole day to it, only to get the call later from him that it wasn’t going to happen.

Then last week, I was all amped for this super cool Jingleball gig and shoved everything aside so I could learn and program, only to get the text the next day that this also wasn’t going to happen.

So Friday I got a call from my friend Chris, the bass player for the Kubis band (and a big shot on the Queen Mary, running a lot of their sound and production), and he told me that he had a possible New Years gig at the happiest place on earth, Disneyland. More specifically, at the swankiest club in the happiest place on earth, CLUB 33.

Club 33 a sweet secret Disneyland club with an entrance by Pirates of the Carribean.

Club 33 Entrance

I would be playing wallpaper jazz with a trio of my choosing, and not to get obscene, the gig would pay very well. In fact it would probably be the best paying gig I’ve ever had. And I’d get to be at Disneyland on New Year’s Eve, but V.I.P. style.

And yet, it’s not on the books yet, so why even mention it to anyone else? I’m supposed to hear about it today (which only has 19 minutes left), and no news isn’t really good news. It would be three Mondays of disappointment, but at this point it’s par for the course and I’m not too down about my recent luck. If I get it, awesome. If not, I’m not surprised. But here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

