Trying to Avoid Gigs Like These….

26 Jan

I just got a phone call 10 minutes ago from a misc 909 number. The message was about a possible gig this weekend:

Now, it might sound mean spirited of me, but I am trying to avoid gigs like this for the most part. I don’t know if I know this guy or not, and I definitely don’t know that band leader. The pay isn’t horrible, but it’s not great. And Sun City, which I hadn’t even really heard of, is kind of in the middle of nowhere.

Directions to Sun City

That would annihilate Saturday afternoon and evening, as well as making me sleepy for my Sunday church gig. And it would be a lot of driving to boot. Maybe at this point and time I shouldn’t be turning down any kind of money, as I could really use it. But I am, and I will. Fortunately, this weekend it’s a moot point because Saturday night I’m hanging with my old roomates from college. But on any other weekend, I think the response would probably be the same.

2 Responses to “Trying to Avoid Gigs Like These….”

  1. bernadette January 27, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    I wouldn’t take it.

  2. mlhughdefrance January 27, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Actually they called me right after you…Chick was a little disappointed you didn’t recognize his voice. Gadd said to say “Sup” to Paul, and btw…Barack is actually a RIPPIN’ bass player! Who’d have thought? What a night! The pay was pretty weak though! You made the right choice.

Leave a Reply

