This Sound Makes Me Lose It Everytime

17 Feb

::::The following may or may not be autobiographical::::

My friend Chris Collins is a video editor in Hollywood, and he often gives me advice on writing cues for T.V. He says that whenever you write a cue, you should imagine the scene you are writing for.

I added this first story to make this blog post less about my situation specifically, and more about the hilarious sound that follows

Imagine sitting at a booth, waiting for a blind date to show up. Suddenly this gorgeous woman walks through the door, totally naturally beautiful and yet approachable looking. She comes right for you! You incredulously mumble, ‘Are YOU Stacey?!’. She replies, ‘No, I’m Stacey’s friend. That’s Stacey, and she points to the bar where this nasty greasy chick is wolfing down hotwings.

CUE THIS SOUND!!!

So then, imagine interviewing for a job on the phone and thinking it went really well. The guy says he’ll get in touch in a week or so when they do in person interviews, but he really enjoyed talking to you. the company seems uniquely suited to your perfect skill set. So the week you are supposed to have this interview, you get in touch with him and leave him a voice mail asking when your interview will be. He then calls back and leaves you a voice mail stating that…….they decided to go with someone else with more experience, but thank you for your interest in the company.

CUE THIS SOUND!!!

You have to smile. I think I might make that my ring tone for awhile.

6 Responses to “This Sound Makes Me Lose It Everytime”

  1. Emily February 18, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Aw, this makes me visualize a sad man who’s cartoon heart deflates at the same time his head falls in despair with a sigh.

    Chin up, Bobby!

    • bobbycressey February 18, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      No no no this isn’t a sympathy post, seriously. No ‘aww schucks’ or ‘word of encouragement’ please. I just wanted to share that sound byte with you! In fact I think I’ll add an addition to the post, to make it less about me.

  2. Graham February 18, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    You can’t fool me — i still feel sorry you

  3. Emily February 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Okay okay, I’d like to change my comment to:

    Aw, I’d hate to be the actor who is being filmed when that sound byte is played.

    How’s that Bobby?

  4. bobbycressey February 18, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    You are both tolerable at best.

  5. Corrie February 26, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    wahh wahh. I’m with Graham on this. I want to hug you. Though I am wondering why you are trying to date Hot Wing Stacy when you have Parmesan Debbie. I think I would like that for my ring tone too. Or at least I would like a button that I could push on my phone to make that ditty on command.

Leave a Reply

