Looks Like I Got the Gig

19 Mar

With Brendan James. I got this text last night:

“Everybody got the gig, LA dates nxt month, potential NYC dates late May….”

The audition, which I never posted about, went really well. It was more of a ‘You’re pretty much already in the band’ vibe than an ‘audition’ vibe.

I didn’t know what to expect from Brendan, but this cat is refreshingly down to earth and very nice. His songs are like well oiled pop machines as well, and his piano parts are sick! I wondered how I would feel playing ‘backup’ keyboards for somebody playing heavy piano stuff. Would I get jealous and want to hop on the piano myself? Turns out not at all. I was very content standing back there padding his pianos and playing strings and misc other parts. It might be different if he couldn’t play his own stuff, but that is by no means an issue with this guy — he plays his parts just as well as they are played on the record.

I’m looking forward to working with him some more and seeing what lays down the road for us.

2 Responses to “Looks Like I Got the Gig”

  1. Emily March 19, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Woooohhhooooo!

    ^^jazz hands^^

    Congrats, Bobby!

  2. Jared March 22, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Awesome! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

