San Diego Padres Organ Gig

31 Mar

So it’s official. The gig that I have been alluding to here, here and here to over the past couple months has FINALLY come to fruition.

I will be the San Diego Padres’ organ player for the 2010 season. Now, we aren’t talking about a full time gig here, we’re talking about the Thursday home games with a 3 PM start. That’s only 6 games out of the year.

I have been pursuing this for the past three months to the point where I had given up on the whole thing. Then I finally got a call on St. Patrick’s Day telling me that they had been lagging and busy, but the auditions would be next week if I could still do it. So I headed down there the following week, met the people in charge, and auditioned for the spot. I got to plug into the house system which was an incredible thrill.

90 minutes later, I was back on the curb outside the stadium, and I didn’t really feel like the audition had gone well. In fact I kind of walked away thinking that it wasn’t going to happen.

But then I got a phone call last night telling me otherwise.

Now it’s a countdown to April 15th, which is the first ‘Throwback Thursday’. Everyone will be in there ’84 uniforms, and I’ll have to represent with a

4 Responses to “San Diego Padres Organ Gig”

  1. Jared March 31, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    AWESOME! I want to come to a game where you play!

  2. victoria zodrow! March 31, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    OMG!!! BOBBY!!!! GOOD JOB!!!!!
    we’re rootn for u!!!! ILY!

  3. Emily March 31, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    WwoooOoOOOoOoOOOHHhHhOoOOOOOOooooooOOOOoOoOoo!!!!!!! Yyyyiiiiiiiipppeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! Way to go Bobby!

  4. bernadette April 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    congrats!

Leave a Reply

