Organs

7 Apr

I spent my Monday driving all over San Diego in the rain looking at organs for the Padres. I looked at an old Wurlitzer, a Gulbransen Pacemaker at the ‘Thrift Corral’ in La Mesa, and a Yamaha Electone D 80 in San Marcos. Here are a couple pics of these beasts:

The Thrift Corral was awesome. A bunch of sweet old ladies work there and wear smiles on their faces. The prices are also more like what you’d expect to pay in 1940 than in 2010. I found these sweet Reader’s Digest Literature compilations which have excerpts from 3 or 4 novels in each little volume. They had a deal going for these this week. Normally, they are $0.25 each, but during THIS WEEK ONLY, it was buy one get one free. They also had some CDs for $2.50. I picked up three CDs, including the Saint Saens Piano Concerto no. 2 and Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini variations. They were going to let the Gulbransen go for $150. Actually, they had 20% off coupons at the register, so I’d be looking at $30 less than that. Kind of a steal if you ask me.

Anyway as I fired up the Gulbransen and started playing it, one of the women came over to me and said that she was once engaged to a man that played the Lowrey organ, and she implored me to keep playing. So I did and she came back over with slight tears in her eyes and said, ‘I loved him. Keep playing!’ But I was starting to feel bad so I asked her what ever happened to him. She said, ‘Well we were all set to be married, and we had a house picked out and everything. But suddenly he said, ‘No we are going to live here instead.’ in a house right next door to his mother. She said ‘uh uh’ and the rest is history. What a crazy story.

So of the above organs, I decided to go with the D-80 on the advice of my Keyboard Corner friends who know much more about these things than I do. The Gulbransen was actually a little easier to play for some reason, but the D-80 was a steal at the price we got it at and it’s really more suited for the job.

2 Responses to “Organs”

  1. bernadette April 8, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    great story and so sad for the lady.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Organs « Music is a Fickle Mistress -- Topsy.com - April 13, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bobby Cressey. Bobby Cressey said: The Organ hunt is over. http://ping.fm/r9SC4 […]

Leave a Reply

