‘Great, an Invite to Your 6th Show in 4 Months’

12 Apr

Every day I get hit up on Facebook with invites to various musical happenings. “Come support me at the Mint/Roxy/HOB/Whiskey/Good Hurt/Shore/Hotel Cafe/Saint Rocke/Key Club/Little Temple”. Sometimes these are from people who are in the bands playing. Sometimes these are from people who are avid fans of or are involved with the street teams of the bands, which is definitely worse.

When I get hit by these invites, my reaction is on a continuum between three different states:

1) Sweet, ********* is playing? Man, it’s been forever since their last show. I’d love to come check them out.

2) It’s cool to see my homie ***** doing his or her thing. I don’t think I can make it out to that show, and she/he did hit me with an invite two weeks ago to another one, and I couldn’t go then either, but I don’t mind. I hope to make it out soon, and I wish this person all the best.

3) What the bleep!? I thought this might be a nice personal message from this person who I haven’t spoken to personally for a year or so. Instead it’s just another invitation to their next show down the street, much like the last 6 I’ve gotten from them in the last three months. No, I won’t pay $15 to catch your crappy show at the ****, and I don’t wish you the best at all.

If you are worried about which category you fall into, don’t worry. If you are reading this, you are my friend to the point of knowing about this blog and caring about me as a person, not just a head at your show. Do you think getting one more person like me to come to your show is suddenly going to get your music to the next level? So many of these chumps are kidding themselves. In the case of 3), I think to myself vindictively, ‘keep on kidding yourself sucka, you’ll never make it, especially with the bad vibe I’m getting from your FB contact ability’. In the case of 2), I think to myself, ‘Man, I hope this person does well. He or She may not actually have a chance of making it, but I’d love to support him or her, and wish them all the best.’. In the case of 1) I’m actually stoked on the music and WANT to go check it out because I know I’ll enjoy it.

Don’t be a 3), because if you are, I am not the only one who is thinking what I’m thinking, and not only are you wasting your life, you’re alienating your friends. (again if you’re reading this, you’re probably not a 3)

3 Responses to “‘Great, an Invite to Your 6th Show in 4 Months’”

  1. mlhughdefrance April 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Testify!…..uuhh…yes you can get a witness over here! The worst is when people start sending messages back and forth to everyone who was invited, and you get like twenty spikes on the “false hopes” graph in one day. “Oh, wow that’s so nice I got a personal message from”…DISAPPOINT!! (voice from Teen Girl Squad)

    • bobbycressey April 12, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      I knew you’d appreciate this! Yeah the personal convo unrelated to your initial post is always a good time.

  2. Jared April 14, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    So, you want to come to my show at the Mint/Roxy/HOB/Whiskey/Good Hurt/Shore/Hotel Cafe/Saint Rocke/Key Club/Little Temple next week? It’s only $15! (Cue Pablo Francisco voice: The band’s gonna make it)

Leave a Reply

