Potentially Nerve Wracking

1 Sep

Does this look nerve wracking to you?

I should be nervous right?

In other words,

DON’T SCREW UP THE MOST SACRED SONG IN THE COUNTRY WHEN YOU’RE PLAYING IT BY YOURSELF ON YOUR SECOND INSTRUMENT IN FRONT OF 42,000 PEOPLE.

To be honest, it’s not THAT scary. I’ve done things that have made me much more nervous in my life before. How do I reassure myself that I can do this and it’s no big deal? I cheat. Even though I have the anthem memorized, I read a lead sheet of it when I play it at the ball game. Why? Because that would be a really bad time for the power to go out in my brain.

So far, of the 4 out of 5 total times I’ll play that this year in that situation, it’s always gone well. Sometimes I totally crush it, and sometimes I just do okay. But I’ve had nothing resembling a near train wreck by any stretch. It’s nice to know that you can do something like this in a sticky situation with cameras in your face and a Friar breathing down your neck and keep your cool and have fun doing it!

One more Throwback Thursday left, September 30th.

8 Responses to “Potentially Nerve Wracking”

  1. mlhughdefrance September 1, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    AWESOME! If I were you I would consider that picture a great accomplishment. That’s all I’m saying.

  2. Zoe (yeah that Zoe) September 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    you’re awesome
    FIN

  3. bobbycressey September 1, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    I kind of feel the same way Hugh. Because unlike other ‘I overcame and delivered’ moments in life, this one is beautifully documented in this little photo. I’m proud of that pic! It also kind of speaks for itself. The text on the scoreboard lays it all out, down to the song I’m playing.

  4. bernadette September 7, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Awesome Bobby! How much are tickets? Is the 30th your last game of the season? Are you going to be playing anymore games? Would love to bring the kids to see you play even though it’s a Thursday.

    • bobbycressey September 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

      Tickets are around $14 I think for the section near me. I’m only doing one more game, and that’s the 30th, so if you’d like to come down that would be the time to do it! If not, hopefully next year, and you can bring the kids when they’re not in school.

  5. bernadette September 9, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Perhaps I’m being too ambitious for a school day. It sounds like fun though. Too bad we couldn’t make it to SD this summer. Does that mean you will be playing next year?

  6. bobbycressey September 9, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    It IS fun. Especially when then win. As for next year, I really don’t know what their plans are going to be for me. It would sure be nice to be a part of it again, perhaps in a more expanded sense, but they aren’t going to know for awhile I bet.

  7. bernadette October 13, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Hey bobby! How did the last game go? Too bad we missed it. Wish we could’ve been there.

    You have to come over for dinner some time.

Leave a Reply

