Building Bass Traps

19 Sep


Right now I am in the process of building bass traps / absorption for a room downstairs so I can move my studio down there. This wouldn’t be possible without the help of Tim Eagerton. He has been an incredible resource, patiently explaining his method for building sexy bass traps and showing me where to get the materials, graciously allowing me to build in the workshops of Flood Church where he works, and allowing me to chew up his valuable time by discussing all things Apple and acoustics. He has a blog which I think he might be in the process of revamping though I can post the link nonetheless. It is “Wax And Wires”> an excellent place to go and learn about what’s hipper than hip.

So a basstrap is basically a device that does exactly that: it traps bass. When mixing audio, in order to get an accurate sound you need to kill/disperse resonant room frequencies. This is especially so in the bass frequencies, and even more especially so in rooms with rectangular dimensions. Different devices are employed to do this. A company called Auralex sells expensive (and overpriced) foam that they tout as absorbing sound and making your room sound better. This foam doesn’t take care of the bass however.

The homemade bass traps that I’m making do a much better job of it. They use a special kind of acoustic absorbing insulation called ‘Owens Corning 703’. If you put this stuff up to your face and talk, you’ll hear nothing coming back at you. Here are some pictures of different stages of the assembly process:

Raw Wood

Braced Frame 1

Single Frame

Multiple Frames

Frames and Insulation

1 Finished Trap

2 Responses to “Building Bass Traps”

  1. Jared Moody September 19, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Looks cool! Please learn as much as possible so that one day I can pester you on how to do this.

    • bobbycressey September 19, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Yessir. I’d already consider myself a B level expert.

Leave a Reply

