Turntable fixed

9 Oct


Early this Summer we were given an old turntable which had been given to us by an old friend. It sat around in a box for a couple months before I had the urge to set it up and see if it worked. It didn’t. So I asked around and was directed to in Normal Heights. They did a fantastic job restoring the turntable to working condition.

Now, I am developing into a vinyl freak which could be a big problem. I don’t have any room for records.

I must tell you, these records sound better than the digitally chopped up and compressed MP3s I’ve been listening to for the past several years. Creamy and live. Hard to describe it, but it’s real. And inspiring.

2 Responses to “Turntable fixed”

  1. Nelson, co-CEO October 9, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Reblogged this on nelsonjacobsen and commented:
    Since I still have my SL D2 from 1979 I’ll be check out Normal Heights.

    • bobbycressey October 9, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      This place does incredible work. I was going to write more about them. The owner is a member of Mensa and electronics guru. That said, he is often curt with customers who don’t listen to him or choose to act bratty. I highly recommend it. Be forewarned: sometimes the wait is significant.

Leave a Reply

